Michael Ondaatje wins Golden Man Booker Prize

On Sunday, Michael Ondaatje’s “The English Patient” was crowned the Golden Man Booker Prize winner for the best work of fiction from the past 50 years. This special one off competition,  was given out to the book that has best stood the test of time. They enlisted a panel of five judges, with each judge being given a specific decade, to choose the top book from their decades. These five finalists then moved onto the month long public online voting period. At the end of this period it was Michael Ondaatje’s “The English Patient” that came out on top.

Michael Ondaatje is one of the most recognized and renowned Canadian authors, having received multiple literary awards including the Governor General’s Award and the Giller Prize. He is also an Officer of the Order of Canada.

“The English Patient”  was selected as the 1990’s nominee. This extremely popular work actually tied for the Man Booker Award in 1992 with Barry Unsworth’s “Sacred Hunger”. Originally slated to be a novella, Ondaatje’s most recognized work has been translated into more than 30 languages. It was also made into the popular film of the same name, that won nine Academy Awards.

So why not check out the following Golden Man Booker Prize finalists OR Michael Ondaatje’s latest novel “Warlight“:

In a Free State by V. S. Naipaul;

“Winner of the 1971 Booker Prize, this grouping of two stories — a short novel within a prologue and an epilogue from Naipaul’s travel journals — is held together by Naipaul’s pervading concern with the themes of exile, freedom and prejudice.”  (Only available in ebook)

Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively

“Winner of the 1987 Booker Prize, Dame Penelope Lively’s Moon Tiger is a haunting story of loss and desire. Against a background of world events, Claudia’s own remarkable story provokes a sharp combination of sadness, shock and amusement.” (Only available in ebook)

The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje

Winner of the 1992 Booker Prize, “with ravishing beauty and unsettling intelligence, Michael Ondaatje traces the intersection of four damaged lives in an Italian villa at the end of World War II.”

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

Winner of the 2009 Booker Prize,  “is a darkly brilliant reimagining of life under Henry VIII”.

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

Winner of the 2017 Booker Prize, “”Lincoln in the Bardo” takes place during and after the death of Abraham Lincoln’s son William “Willie” Wallace Lincoln and deals with the president’s grief at his loss.”