Find Your Next Read from Loan Stars

If you’ve been looking for a great read but don’t know where to go, why not try the Loan Stars selections! Loan Stars is a readers’ advisory service that allows Canadian librarians to select their favourite upcoming titles. How it works is simple. Library staff nominate their favourite adult reads and the ten most nominated books are placed on the list. The end result is like having a “Staff Suggestions” wall chosen by librarians across Canada!

Check out these available titles from the January list:

The Beautiful Dead

l

1. The Beautiful Dead by Belinda Bauer

Snarky TV crime reporter Eve Singer’s fledgling career begins to revive as she gets an exclusive of a lifetime. While covering a string of bizarrely artful public murders, the killer who relishes notoriety, contacts Eve giving her access to select information about his crimes. So begins a compelling and suspenseful cat and mouse game that could have deadly consequences for Eve.

 

l

lThe Chosen Maiden by Eva Stachniak

2. The Chosen Maiden by Eva Stachniak

In this compelling work Stachniak welcomes us to the tumultuous and exceedingly competitive world of dance. Set in the backdrop of the early 20th century, Chosen Maiden tells the story of Bronia, a talented and hardworking dancer, who is overshadowed by her brilliantly gifted brother. Through grit and determination Bronia will fight to reach the heights of ballet, while struggling with ambitions, family relations, and deep anxieties.

l

l

lThe Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

3. The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Ardenl

Journey into the magical and lush backdrop of 14th century Russia where Vasya, the daughter of a supposed witch lives. As a child, Vasya’s conversations with wood and household spirits were strange but tolerable. When Vasya’s stepmother, the deeply religious and troubled Anna, and the new village priest try to end the pagan offerings it is up to Vasya to stop the bear from awakening.

L

l

lHope Has Two Daughters by Monia Mazigh

4. Hope Has Two Daughters by Monia Mazigh

Nadia leaves her native Tunisia in 1984 amidst the deadly violence brought on by rising food costs, eventually emigrating to Canada to begin her life. More than twenty-five years later, Nadia’s daughter Lila reluctantly travels to Tunisia to learn about her mother’s birth country. As she is making discoveries of her mothers’ struggles in Tunisia, Lila finds herself in the middle of another revolution. Mazigh vividly weaves together the story mother and daughter at two crucial moments in Tunisian history.

l

Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooneyl

5. Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk by Kathleen Rooney

In this sweeping tale, 85 year old Lillian Boxfish, once a glamourous and ambitious advertising executive, celebrates the 1984 New Year by taking a walk through New York City. On this reckless journey, she recounts her life and contemplates the changes the years have brought to both her and her city. Rooney creates a nostalgic and moving story that takes you on a trip across a changing America, from the Jazz Age and Great Depression, to the AIDS epidemic and the birth of hip-hop.

l

Juliet's Answer by Glenn Dixonl

l

6. Juliet’s Answer by Glenn Dixon

Dixon tells the heartwarming story of a English teacher who travels to Verona and volunteers to answer letters addressed to Shakespeare’s Juliet. As he writes these replies he comes to truly understand heartbreak and love. Readers who enjoyed Eat, Pray, Love may appreciate this reminiscent memoir told from a male perspective.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Anti-Spam *